Interviews

INTERVIEW * Stephen Antonson

Stephen Antonson at his studio
 
 A · Firstly, can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I studied painting and sculpture at Carnegie Mellon and received an MFA in Mixed Media from Hunter College. My first solo show came out of a semester I spent studying at Lacoste in France. For more than a decade, i showed my work in galleries in New York, London, and L.A. In the last decade, I turned my attention to design and decorative art, specializing in plaster. I have a line of lighting and accessories — chandeliers, lamps, sconces, frames and candlesticks—that have lead to   commissions  with top interior designers including Peter Marino, Miles Redd, James Huniford,  Victoria Hagen. My studio is in brooklyn.
B · What’s your favourite part of the design process?
 the dialogue with the client who commissions a custom piece can often be a great thing particularly if they have a very good idea of what they want.  the dialogue leads to a  drawing and that yields a prototype. The prototype is perhaps my favorite step because that is when you know if the piece will work as envisioned  or if changes are needed. this is also when surprises can happen.

C · Please tell us more about your art and design background and what made you become an artist and designer?

I have always been interested in objects from a sculptural standpoint as well as from a craftsmanship perspective.  For as long as I can remember, I have been making things. But  I could make things all day long to no end, which is why I appreciate having a context for them, whether it’s  a gallery, museum, or decorative arts setting such as a private home.

D · Where do you get inspiration?

I’m a little wary of the word inspiration. I  get my ideas by doing the work—all the time. looking and listening are key too. Of course, I look to The greats: Calder, Giacometti, and Rauschenberg  but I also tap into my children with their sense of the absurd and constant need to play. Sometimes its just a bag being blown down the street or a mitten on the sidewalk.

E · What was the movie or book that impressed you the most?

There are so many. Anything by the Marx Brothers.

F · Can you describe your style, how has that style developed over the years?
I don’t give it much thought really. each work has to work within its intended context. thats the important thing.

G · For you what makes a product rare?

Making a piece by hand certainly suggests uniqueness. Most of my work up until recently has been custom one-offs. I have been wanting to design products for the mass market for some time and have just been given an opportunity. i hope to do more.

H · Regarding the future, are you afraid of something?

I am frightened by those lacking imagination and/or sense of humor.

 
Icicle Chandelier White

Specially for DESIGN GALLERIST Stephen Antonson has send a couple of pictures of his new creation!

http://www.stephenantonson.com
This entry was posted in ARTISTS & CREATORS, INTERVIEWS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

